Girly Gardening DIY

One girl, a copy of Lord of the Rings, a few loose screws (especially those in my head eh?) …welcome to girl DIY.

Gals and guys, I did me some DIY recently and thought i would show you what i did.

The aim of the game was to build a raised bed so i can grow some fruit and veggies.  Now just because everything i have ever grown has died in the past, doesn’t mean it will again does it?

Why a raised bed you might ask….well, they are low maintenance and easy to tend.

I would not be able to dig over the lawn and do a heap of lung-busting plot preparation, but a raised bed or two?  I think I could handle that.

The bed I settled on is made from 100% recycled plastic and was delivered flatpack, requiring the used of a drill to assemble.

Me with a drill.

Now that’s scary.

Oh, and a sharp knife is always handy when doing a spot of DIY, as any girl knows…

So with the help of trusty Tolkien and Thomas Hardy… more for propping up capabilities than for reading…

the game was afoot…

and wonder of wonders…by the sweet perspiration of my brow, i made this….

Then i lined it and filled it with compost and voila!

The bed is 2m x 1m.

I have since taken ownership of two smaller beds which i assembled without the use of a drill or a sharp kitchen knife, you’ll be pleased to know.

And all my digits remain intact.

More gardening posts will follow as i make my first forray into growing my own fruit and veg, hope you’ll find them mildly entertaining and even possibly informative and most definately humourous.

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Frugality, Growing Stuff, Home & Family, Simple Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Girly Gardening DIY

  1. The best food in the world comes from raised beds. Yay for you!

    We’ll all be looking forward to photos of your garden in full bloom.

  2. Mary Lou says:

    Finally, you are in my territory! Are you familiar with garden tea (made from all of your vegetable trimmings, coffee/tea grounds, etc)? And while this will too much the first year, if your interest does not wane, take a look at upside down tomato planters. I would be a good rabbit, I could live in the garden!
    Any word from your blood tests? And are you still working on the song? Keep going, Debbie, we all want a lot from you!

  3. mum6kids says:

    Fantastic.
    I don’t know whether we’ll get around to growing much this year.
    Good luck with it all.

  4. raiz says:

    Thank you for nice information! I bookmarked your site for futher reading!!

    Rait Raak
    Game Copy Wizard Review

  5. Rita says:

    Nice to see Tressell’s book ….it is my husband’s favourite, not sure he’d approve of the use you’ve put it to however.

    Where did you get this plastic masterpiece from? I could do with a simple raised bed, growing things in growbags is no fun and our rented garden is not really up to cultivating, too many burrowing furry things hanging around, I can’t defend the garden but I may just be able to defend a raised bed.

  6. Congratulations! You go, girl! I’m impressed. Maybe I should have a raised bed garden. Hmmm. Just thinking. Looks good!

  7. Karen says:

    you are amazing!

  8. Agostino says:

    Hi,

    Quirky blog!

    Wanted to let you know about a new non-profit making venture – catholicvalues.co.uk – designed to raise funds for pro-life causes. We’re a price comparison website but donating profits to charities who support the dignity of human life.

    So if you could plug/ support us i’d be grateful. Feel free to have look….
    Many thanks
    Agostino

  9. Suzanne says:

    Let us know how that goes. We had one and it didn’t do that well. It was years ago. Yet, I still think we did something wrong. Perhaps it was the dirt he used..perhaps it was the drainage…perhaps you will do well and we can learn from you. I think he had made it out of wood and I think the tomatoes did okay. Anyway, we garden, but mostly just tomatoes, green peppers, sometimes we’ve had cucumbers and green beans and okra, but I didn’t know how big okra could get and thought it would be fun to grow big when I saw it and then I tried to fix it and it was gross..hilarious..learned my lesson! LOL! Nothing like a good fresh homegrown tomato in the summer..oh yum!

  10. Paul says:

    St. Fiacre is your patron in these endeavors!

Leave a Reply

