Gro-blog

Currently I’m growing potatoes in 70 litre plant pots, but they are expensive and i have been looking for a more economical way of planting up tatties as i will soon be putting more seed potatoes in so that i have homegrown potatoes right through until 2011. I thought i would share what i came up with!

1. Now, I don’t happen to have an Ikea nearby, but i managed to get hold of some Ikea bags really cheaply and i thought they would make good ‘planters’…

2. To ensure when filled, these bags don’t retain excess water, I made quite a few holes all around the base area….

3. Using freely gained (from parcel packaging) polystyrene and packing peanuts, I placed a layer of drainage at the bottom of the bag…

4. I then added soil and also a bit of compost….(i will take quite a bit of this out when i put the seed potatoes in and then re-add the soil/compost a couple of inches at a time as and when they need earthing up.  I’m just allocating the soil now else it will get used elsewhere in the garden).

5. And there you have it, a row of growing bags all ready to receive my next lot of seed potatoes…

This entry was posted in Dirt Girl, Grow Your Own, Home & Family, Simply Living, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gro-blog

  1. Renee says:

    Wow, what a great idea! I can’t wait to see if this works. If so, I am so stealing this idea next year.

    I think of you often. I have so little time these days for blogging, but I do keep up with you and yours. Love,
    Renee

  2. Jean says:

    Hi Deb!

    I have a gift for you at my blog. See it here: http://catholicfire.blogspot.com/2010/05/sunshine-award.html

  3. Esther says:

    Deb, what a great idea! I love container gardening.

  4. Dad says:

    Soo thats where my Ikea bags went to, but its worth a merit and star

  5. Looks good! You are so resourceful. Enjoy those potatoes.

  6. stf says:

    what a GREAT idea

Leave a Reply

